Who are India’s longest-serving MLAs and MPs? भारत के सबसे लंबे समय तक विधायक और सांसद कौन हैं?

Former Kerala CM Oommen Chandy has represented Puthupally in the Assembly for 18,728 days, or 51 years and three months. He features in a list of iconic politicians such as M Karunanidhi, Somnath Chatterjee, and Atal Bihari Vajpayee.

Former Kerala Chief Minister Oommen Chandy on Monday became the longest-serving member of the Kerala Assembly. The Congress leader has represented Puthupally, his constituency in Kottayam district, for 18,728 days, or over 51 years and three months as an MLA. His Assembly tenure began in 1970 and since then has won 11 straight elections.

He broke the record of the late KM Mani, who headed the Kerala Congress (M). Mani represented the Pala constituency for five decades — from 1965 to 2016. He won 13 elections and is the longest-serving minister in the state’s history, having held the finance portfolio for 13 years. Though Mani won from Pala in 1965, he entered the Assembly two years later as the state was under President’s rule at the time. So, the two years are not considered while counting his Assembly tenure.

Also read |As Amit Shah visits Bengaluru today, a familiar buzz: Will he wield the axe?

Here are some of India’s longest-serving legislators:

In Maharashtra, Ganpatrao Deshmukh of the Peasants and Workers Party won his 11th Assembly election in 2019. Deshmukh has represented the Sangola for a record 54 years.


Post ID: 5121b635-153b-4371-ab95-96821a3b4612
Rating: 1
Mumbai, Mahārāshtra

Seattle, Washington
Member since Feb 2021

Posted in categories:
Political, Politics

Similar classified ads

Randy's other ads